December 12th, 2013

roald dahl funny prize ceremony 2013

Going as a judge to the Roald Dahl Funny Prize was a perfect excuse to dress up like a loony. But a perfectly colour-coordinated loony!

Last year, Booktrust held the ceremony at the Unicorn Theatre, but this year, we got to hold it on the amazing stage set at the Cambridge Theatre for the Matilda musical. Very appropriate! Here's former Children's Laureate Michael Rosen giving the introduction. (You can see earlier photos from our Judges' Meeting here.)

This photo's by Mike Richards and I apologise to any people sitting behind my enormous hair.

Here we go, all the shortlisted writers and illustrators! Let's see, I might need some help here identifying them all. In the chair on the left is Michael Rosen and Philip Ardagh (The Grunts All at Sea), and from left: Pete Johnson (My Parents are Out of Control, Jim Smith (I am Still Not a Loser), Mark Chambers (Noisy Bottoms), Holly Smale (Geek Girl, Simon Rickerty (Monkey Nuts, Jamie Smart (The DFC Library: Fish-Head Steve), Elys Dolan (Weasels), Lee Wildish & Charlotte Guillaine & Adam Guillaine (Spaghetti with the Yeti), in the right armchair: Sara Ogilvie & Amy Sparkes (Do Not Enter the Monster Zoo!) and on the floor from left: Mark Lowery (Pants are Everything), Axel Scheffler (The Grunts All at Sea), Leigh Hodgikinson (Troll Swap). You can find out more about all of these fine folk and their books over on the Booktrust awards page.

Collapse )